Photo essay – Cars and their people…

June 2010 ~ Last week marked the 37th annual Back To The 50s weekend in Minnesota. Featuring nearly 12,000 street rods, customs and classics, it has become the largest three-day rod and custom show in the world! Although I can appreciate a shiny classic and a funky rat rod, the main reason why I attended the show was to photograph people and interesting details. From shiny Cadillacs and a Bugatti to old farm pick up trucks and a VW rat rod, my goal was to capture cars and their people. Whether you like old cars or not,  I hope you enjoy the ride!


~

Matching car shirts…

~

I saw hundreds of pairs of fuzzy dice of all colors!

~

The car show is always a good time to party, what better spot than the back of an old pick up truck?

~

Plenty of beer flowing on a hot June weekend.

~

Where is the poodle?

~

Spending time with the guys, commenting on everyone else’s wheels…

~

Something does not sound right…

~

Lots of rat rods… Sign of a bad economy? Rust is cheaper than shiny paint!

~

Is this really necessary in a rat rod?

~

Nice gentleman posing in his sweet old truck.


~

My favorite… the VW rat rod!

~

PEACE!

~

I saw the show in Elvis’ glasses!

~

Did I mention that the car show is held on the 320 acre Minnesota fair grounds and attracts over 125,000 visitors?

I hope you enjoyed your visit, feel free to leave a comment, sign up for updates and/or join my Facebook page by clicking on the icon at the top of the page!

12 thoughts on “Photo essay – Cars and their people…

  1. VALERIE , I REALLY LIKED YOUR PHOTOS , VERY WELL THOUGHT OUT , AND ITS NICE TO SEE SOMETHING DIFFERENT OTHER THAN 3/4 FRONT VIEWS , GENE SONNEN , MSRA #3

    Like

  2. C’est un spectacle de choix pour faire de bonnes photos originales (détails, gros plan, couleurs…)
    Tu as dû de faire plaisir pendant la durée de ce show!
    BONNE FETE NATIONALE!!!
    Bises

    Like

  3. Valerie, This is phenominal. I LOVE these photos and find your comment to John about “details” interesting as that is the way I look at the world as well. The colors, characters and textures (shiny and rust), I love it all. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

