The story of an artist in his studio

I love to shoot environmental portraits. Especially artists in their environment, whether they are painters of chefs, I enjoy capturing their personality and the details around them.

I spent some time photographing glass artist Peter Zelle last week as he was working on a large new project. I enjoyed listening to him talk about his craft as I was doing the shoot. Here are some of my favorite shots. I used ambient light only, some of the images called for B&W, others for true color or even something more creative such as the last picture. As photographer Chris Orwig said so well: “Correct color is not necessarily accurate color, rather it’s color which reflects a mood that you want to express or your vision for a way a photograph should be experienced.”

One thought on “The story of an artist in his studio

Leave a Reply

