Getting Out Of Your Comfort Zone

Even though my schedule is crazy busy these days, I make a point of giving myself assignments on a regular basis. One fo the risks of turning pro is that you may end up losing the passion for your craft. Working for clients is a compromise between your vision and their vision. Shooting for yourself allows you to create for you 100% and feeds the passion at the same time. I love music but photographing bands in dark bars is not something I do on a regular basis. I rarely bring my DSLR when I go out at night. I did yesterday and I had a blast. The place was very dark and I had to push the ISO super high but isn’t it what a full frame sensor is made for?

Here are a few pics of Power of 10 at Wilebski’s Blues Saloon in St Paul, Minnesota.

Valerie Jardin Photography -1

Valerie Jardin Photography -13

Valerie Jardin Photography -2

Valerie Jardin Photography -11

Valerie Jardin Photography -12

Valerie Jardin Photography -8

Valerie Jardin Photography -3

Valerie Jardin Photography -5

Valerie Jardin Photography -7

Valerie Jardin Photography -9

Valerie Jardin Photography -10

10 thoughts on “Getting Out Of Your Comfort Zone

  1. Thank you everyone! Yes, since I was there as a customer, I did ask permission to photograph the band. Most people don’t ask but it’s common courtesy. This was a big place and the dance floor made it difficult to get close so I used a 70-200mm lens.

    Like

    • Your photos are so dynamic in B&W. Wonderful Valerie…I carry my DSLR everywhere and while attending a Blues and Jazz festival in Australia I was invited on stage to photograph. Your photos are really inspirational.

      Like

  2. I’m interested in the answer to Eugenia’s question as well. Fascinating photos. I’ve discovered my own passion with photography, am taking classes toward a degree, and am out shooting daily. You’ve been added to my inspiration list.

    Like

  3. Valerie,Glad to see the cold spell isn’t keeping you at home. January was so bleak. Looking forward to Spring.Jodi Sandberg

    Like

  4. wow! I could feel, like I was in there too. lovely Valerie and thank you once again. A well -done job only a professional like yourself can do.!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

