California Streets

If I had to limit myself to just one genre of photography it would be street photography. Although I photograph everything that moves me, street photography is ultimately where my heart is. I teach an introduction class on street photography and I take my students on photo walks to apply the techniques they learn in class. We discuss the importance of gesture and expression in the candid shots. We learn about taking our time when we choose to interact with our subject and make a portrait. Although I love to shoot candid street photography and hunt for the unusual. There are places, like Southern California, where interacting with strangers and making a portrait can be very rewarding and fun. There are few places where people are as open and friendly about being photographed and I enjoyed the interaction very much. Here is a mix of candids and portrait pics shot in the San Diego area where I was teaching a photography workshop last weekend.

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-1

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-6

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-5

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-11

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-15

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-16

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-17

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-13

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-3

Robert and Sasha

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-9

French Chef Michel

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-12

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-20

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-2

Artist in front of her studio

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-10

Dancing in the street!

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-4

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-7

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-18

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-21

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-22

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-19

Valerie Jardin - San Diego Street-14

12 thoughts on “California Streets

  1. Valerie, these are so great, and cheery for winter. I bet you want to stick around for awhile … your last ones with the color were magnificent. You brought sunshine to my day… thank you

    Like

  2. there are so many wonderful portraits in this group, it’s hard to pick a favorite. But I loved the man with the guitar on the pier.

    Like

  3. Very fun to look at!
    I found myself taking pics at night this week, tripod and all, and the people kept ducking out of the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

