Walks Of Life

I had a few minutes to spare yesterday morning in Minneapolis so I decided to find an interesting background and stand for 15 minutes to photograph people walking by. I chose this empty store front for two reasons. I like the reflections in the glass and I could position myself in the middle in order to hide my own reflection. I was standing about 3 meters (10 ft) from the wall with my Fuji x100s which is equipped with a 23mm (35mm equiv.) focal length lens . I was fairly close to the people walking by and some actually ducked thinking I was photographing the wall. Others were busy with their mobile phones, their children or their own thoughts and walked by without noticing me. I could have stood there all day, people’s expressions and demeanors fascinate me and I love to see it all through my lens. Try it!

Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-2

Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-1 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-2 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-3 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-4 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-5 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-8 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-9 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-10 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-11 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-1Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-13 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-14 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-17 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-18 Valerie Jardin Photography - Walks of Life-20

9 thoughts on “Walks Of Life

  1. I love this body of work, Valerie, and this was an awesome idea to create it- it essentially came to you. Reminds me some of the tips from “Chasing the Light” by Ibarionex Perello…

    Like

  2. Love the lighting (the square of reflection), and all the different stories the strangers’ posture, facial expression, attitude tells. Do people ever question you, or take offense to you taking pictures of them?

    Like

    • Thanks to the smaller size of the Fuji x100s, I am even more inconspicuous now than ever. Sometimes people will ask me why I am taking pictures. I tell them that I’m a street photographer and I am documenting life on the streets. This usually starts a nice conversation that often leads to street portraits of the same people. Other times people will come to me and say: “Hey, you’re a street photographer, cool!” I’ve never experienced people getting mad at me or feeling offended. It’s all about respect. I try to capture gesture and expression, never someone in a vulnerable or embarrassing situation.

      Like

  3. Valerie, I was wondering why you choose to center the vertical separation between the windows, and then realized that by doing so, there is no reflection of the photographer in the photos. Neat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

