Light

Photographers often ask me to give them suggestions of things to photograph. My answer is usually: Anything that moves you! When you see the world around you photographically, any ordinary object becomes extraordinary.

I was working in my favorite room of the house late afternoon yesterday. It’s a very warm loft with an entire wall of windows. Most of my books are in that room and it’s my favorite place to write and listen to music. Most importantly, every time I sit in that room I see the ever changing quality of light on the objects around me. I usually have a camera nearby, so last night I snapped a couple of pics of a stack of books in the soft evening light. Nothing special you may say, but it was a special moment to me.

My point is: You don’t need to go far to find things to photograph. Find an ordinary object in the room you are right now and make it look extraordinary. Try it!

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

4 thoughts on “Light

  1. How very true Valerie. When the weather is bad, or no trips planned, I create an inside studio and take photos of flowers that I have in a vase, or old family treasures, or just the food that I’m preparing that day. I often use a “natural” light vs. flash and it’s amazing with a macro lens how different everyday items that surround you look!

    Like

Leave a Reply

