Rural America

I live in a large city and major cultural center here in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota. Coffee shops are filled with Mac users enjoying $6 Lattes. I love large cities. The bigger, the better!

Like in most states, you only need to get out of the urban area and drive 30 miles to be thrown back into a different era. This is exactly what happened yesterday when my family and I exited the highway to find breakfast on our way to the North Shore of Lake Superior. We happened upon a small coffee shop on main street of Small Town, USA. The place probably hasn’t changed in the past 50 years. There are still many of those places scattered across rural America. Next time you hit the road, ‘get lost on purpose’ and go back in time for a little while…

Valerie Jardin - rural america-2

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

 

8 thoughts on “Rural America

  1. Valerie, beautiful shots. I just happened upon your website. Talk about serendipity. I just got a fujix100s and have been loving getting to know it. Can you talk about the advantage to using LR over Photoshop Elements, which is what I have been using.

    Like

    • Thank you Maria! Lightroom is a much more photographer friendly software in my opinion. Elements has everything you need but it is set up like PS, which was not designed specifically for photographers originally.

      Like

    • Thanks Kim. No, because they didn’t really know I was taking pictures of them. I’m only a few feet away but I don’t bring the camera to my face and it’s completely silent. That way I can capture a truly candid moment. Sometimes, when I’m done, I will go to them to show the pics on the back of the camera. But here that would have been interfering with their conversation or moment of quiet time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

