Driftwood

As you know by now, I am not a nature photographer. It doesn’t mean that I don’t appreciate nature’s beauty. It just doesn’t turn me on visually as much as the street does. But, as I always say, it’s good to exercise those visual push-ups daily and in any setting.

I was on the North Shore of Lake Superior on Saturday for a short family getaway, a time to unplug and unwind. Or at least try to! Not an easy thing for me to do as I am always on the go and thinking of a million projects 24/7 🙂

I love driftwood. I have bits and pieces of it scattered throughout the house next to pebbles of different shapes and sizes. They’re on my desk, on window sills… Just like the pebbles, I find the smooth polished texture of driftwood very beautiful and calming. I spent a few minutes exploring the large tree that had been washed ashore during the last storm. Like anything else in nature, when you get close and remove the color, the shapes stand out and the reality fades away…

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

Testing the Sony a6000. Shot with the kit lens in jpeg with a couple of slider actions in LT5.

One thought on “Driftwood

Leave a Reply

