Snapshots of Everyday Life in Paris ~ Part Deux!

The photo workshop continues. We are all having so much fun roaming the streets of Paris for miles every day. Spending a week with people who share the same passion for photography is so awesome. I don’t shoot much when I teach a workshop but I grab a shot here and there with my little Fuji x100s whenever the opportunity arises. Do you have any favorites in the series below? Please leave a comment 🙂

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

valerie Jardin - Paris snapshots of everyday life-6

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

16 thoughts on “Snapshots of Everyday Life in Paris ~ Part Deux!

  1. I really like the image of the “book vendor” man. . . there’s leading lines from the left from the wall. I am curious what he’s reading that he’s so focused on. . .and, also, I looked at the books on the stand and they look older. Are they classics? What type of books?? — there’s a bit of a story to this one and I like it.

    Like

  2. Absolutely love the two images of the white cat, also the walking man with Eiffel Tower in background catches my eye, the visible leg of Eiffel Tower pointing in same direction as man is walking is excellent.

    Like

  3. Thanks for getting back to me. I’m pleased that you took my thoughts in good spirit. I know you’re very highly regarded on the scene and I in know way attempted to rubbish your excellent reputation. I also enjoyed a podcast interview that you recently took part in with an American gentleman. I’m still pretty new to the street photography game, but I’m starting to look at photos more critically and ask myself So What? I must add that I include my own work here as well 🙂

    Like

    • Treve, I think it’s great that you look at other’s work with a critical eye. There is no rule in street photography. There is a story or there isn’t. Everyone will react differently to an image and the style of the photographer greatly depends on his/her life experiences and constantly evolves. I would say that it can change within the same day depending on the mood. My work goes from timeless images to more abstract work depending on the location and the way I feel the place.
      Btw. Nice work!!

      Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your images of Paris. Hope you don’t mind constructive feedback? I can’t help but feel that I’ve seen these kinds of images of Paris before, made by certain well known photographers many moons ago. I’m not wishing to sound rude – I’d just like to see you making a fresh take on this wonderful city. Best wishes, Treve

    Like

    • Hi Treve,
      I don’t mind your comment at all. We all see life differently and experience a place in a very personal way. I only record what I see and feel and those images reflect exactly that. Other street photographers may experience paris differently, with a more ‘in your face’ approach. It’s not my style. Paris doesn’t change like most cities do. It is not only a compliment to me but to the city itself to say that my images are reminiscent of images from the past. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Too many to choose one favorite! ….but I particularly like the last 3 and the one of the man reading with the wind-blown hair. Excellent images showing the people and life in Paris – beautiful backdrop!!!

    Like

  6. I like the first one in the series – the café shot.

    Quick question… are these straight out of the camera from your X100S? If so, what settings did you use? (film emulation, contrast etc.) I *really* like the look of your shots.

    Like

  7. My favorite is the man holding the magazine while staring off in the distance. All of them are excellent! Why is black and white so much better with street photography?

    Like

Leave a Reply

