Beautiful Smiles of Strangers ~ The Nice Englishman with the WWII Sidecar Motorcycle

The story behind the smile and a quick WWII history reminder…

I was walking by La Maison Gondrée near Pegasus Bridge in Normandy on this beautiful mid-July afternoon when this nice Englishman asked me if I could take a few pics of him and his buddies next to the iconic WWII landmark. I did, using his iPhone. As he was getting ready to leave, I wished him a good trip, he looked up and gave me the most genuine smile! I couldn’t resist sharing it with you as part of my ‘Beautiful Smiles of Strangers’ series.

Note that La Maison Gondrée, located in Bénouville, is now a café and is still owned by the daughter of the original owners. The Café is located a stone-throw away from the famous Pegasus Bridge and the landing site of the gliders operated by the men of the 6th Airborne Division. La Maison Gondrée was the first house to be liberated in France by the allies during the early hours of June 6, 1944.

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Smiles of Strangers ~ The Nice Englishman with the WWII Sidecar Motorcycle

Leave a Reply

