As If Time Had Stopped

“The afternoon knows what the morning never suspected.” Robert Frost.

I can’t resist sharing the 4 pics below with you. I shot them yesterday afternoon in a small coastal town in Normandy. I shot all four frames in that exact sequence shown which took less than 2 or 3 minutes as the two beach cabins were quite close. The timelessness of the two scenes struck me and I am quite pleased that I was able to immortalized them. And this is why I am a street photographer!🙂

Please share your thoughts!

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

15 thoughts on “As If Time Had Stopped

  1. Love the symmetry in these four shots. Each pair includes an image where the subjects appear unaware of your presence and an image where their attention seems to be on you. The sequence tells a great story.

    Like

  2. Individually, lovely pictures, all four of them. I want to make it absolutely clear I like them a lot. I’m just curious why you decided to post all four. There’s not that big a difference between them, and still I think there is one picture of each scene that is so much more interesting than the companion. To my mind, posting all four diminishes, or perhaps dilutes is a better word, the impact of all of them.

    Like

    • Hi! I appreciate the question. The thing is, I usually only take one shot. Here I had the opportunity to take two of each scene which is unusual. I found it quite comical as a sequence. The first couple looked at me but their expression didn’t change. The three friends noticed me first, then ignored me and kept chatting. I was really close as I shoot with a 23mm. I also like them individually and I would normally post just one. Here I felt that the sequence was worth sharing because of its unusual character. I hope this answers your question!

      Like

      • Perfectly! Thank you for taking the time to respond. And don’t mind me, deciding to show a picture or not is a very personal thing, right up there with taking the picture or not. Cheers!

        Like

  3. I understand how these images remind you why you do what you do… wonderful! ….I also like how they demonstrate that you don’t have to be in a “big city” or even an urban area to find iconic ‘street’ scenes.

    Like

  4. I couldn’t help but notice in the frames three and four, I looked at the clouds In the background … what a difference a few seconds can make. What a great captured moment you got in both two frame
    sequences. Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

