iPhoneography At The State Fair

The Minnesota State Fair is huge, both in size and popularity. It is the largest in the US. It lasts 10 days and attracts nearly 2 million visitors. I did an experiment this year. I went to the Great Minnesota Get-Together just with my iPhone and cash in my pocket. I had a blast! No pressure to get great shots, just recording life around me with a simple tool. The following pics are straight out of the iPhone, I didn’t even bother with an app. to make them look cool, the pics should speak for themselves… They’re not very sharp, they’re not properly exposed, but that’s not what story telling is about!

I had fun captioning the snapshots, I hope you have fun reading them.

 

On the bus to the fair

On the bus to the fair

Stuck between a belly and a butt...

Stuck between a belly and a butt…

photo 5

Sharp shooters

The guy in the middle must be a sharp shooter!

The guy in the middle must be a sharp shooter!

It's not a cig, only a fry!

It’s not a cig, only a fry!

photo 1

Eat up, you’re going to need a lot of energy to carry those giant Teenage Mutan Ninja Turtles all day….

photo 2

Say Cheese!

photo 3

You’re cute, but I will not play the basket ball game, I’m sure the diameter of the hoop is smaller than the ball…

photo 1

Friends enjoying a break… and a snack!

photo 3

That’s a lot of cookies… Do you know the saying: ‘A minute on the lips, a life time on the hips’?

photo 3

Eating close to the garbage can…

photo 5

Yep, the corn on the cob is a big seller!

photo 1

‘Lucky Dog’

photo 2

Big boys with sippy cups 🙂

photo 5

Parading on the service cart

photo 2

Sharp dresser!

I'm not a fan of mustaches in general, but those require some skills!

I don’t care much for mustaches in general, but those are cool!

photo 4

I won… And it only cost me $50 in tickets!

photo 4

Twins??

photo 3

Remembering his childhood on the giant swing…

Always an old favorite!

Always an old favorite!

photo 4

Checking out the Java Jive.

photo 5

I see triangles!!!

photo 4

A happy grandpa

photo 2

Maybe I should deflate it for the day…

photo 1

“Come on, it’s only 3 tickets!”

photo 4

“Come here, you won’t regret it, 1 ball for 3 tickets!”

photo 3

Mirror image

"I know I can get the bullseye!"

“I know I can hit the bullseye, the sign says Winner Every Race!”

photo 2

Visitors came all the way from Scotland!

photo 1

“I do love you, but I need to check my messages.”

photo 4

“A little nap and I’ll be ready to walk for a few more hours…”

photo 3

“Holding it for my grandson.”

photo 3

“This is just grand, honey!”

photo 4

Girls just want to have FUN!

Girls just want to have FUN!

12 thoughts on “iPhoneography At The State Fair

  1. This was ifun journalism…. you captured the essence of a State Fair… I wonder if there was a health food booth on the grounds anywhere and what the folks looked like while ordering from it. Your eye was seeing the largest subject matter. I loved it. great story, great job. My fav was the girl reading a BOOK in the car…. that is becoming a rare moment in our time…

    Like

  2. If the purpose is to tell a story, which it is, you did a great job (of course!) The story supports what the news headlines are before the fair ever starts, and all the way through it – what new FOOD is there on a stick at the fair this year? And what foods are the TV station booths giving away free? On one broadcast there was B&J’s ice cream, followed by baklava (on-a-stick, of course.) I did take photos of fried pickles & cream puffs & a lot of photos of crafts & rides, not so many of people. People shots are always SO much more interesting! Love your shots, Valerie! Especially the one of the girl with the Sweet Martha’s cookies! (But now I’m craving them!!!!)

    Like

  3. I had a problem at first with every picture being about eating — the problem not being with your photography but with what it says about what it is that midwesterners consider the most fun thing to do. Saw a lot of my relatives in there. Loved the rest, though. They showed that a county fair doesn’t have to be about food! You caught the happiness on the girls’ faces beautifully. It’s amazing what a skilled photographer can do with an iPhone that I can’t do with an Olympus!

    Like

  4. Thanks again Valérie for sharing…I’m not a great fan of phone photography, but this proves that it’s not the tool, it’s the vision of the photographer using the tool to get the image..!! Great images of a wonderful event…
    Cheers…

    Like

  5. Love your pics and I can separate the artistry from the subject matter. But this is really a sad commentary on the state of the world. I’m surprised the Earth doesn’t tilt on it’s axis from all the weight distribution in this country!

    Like

Leave a Reply

