January Nights ~ Paris

Noisy/grainy pics? Yes! Motion blur? Absolutely! Soft focus? It adds mystery! Reflections? Even better! It’s a feeling, an emotion, a story. Technical perfection is overrated in photography in general. It’s even more true when it comes to street photography. Life in the streets is not perfect, it’s often the flaws that provoke an emotion.

Paris is a beautiful place, January nights start early and offer more photographic opportunities in the streets. Which is your favorite?

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

 

29 thoughts on “January Nights ~ Paris

  1. really nice shots! I like the one of the couple chatting in front of the cafe.

    by the way, beware of the electronic shutter and artificial light… lots of striping in some of the night shots… it ruined a whole day of shooting for me once!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Paris, je t’aime… | Valérie Jardin's Blog

  3. Just a great set of photos. On the last one with the two people in the square — I just get the eerie feeling that the figures on the church are looking down, witnessing what is happening, and giving their approval. It’s a great moment.

    Like

  4. They are all terrific, but my two favorite is the shadow man with the umbrella at the top of the stairs and the umbrella walking across the bridge. I admire your will power to go out into that very cold night to make these images! Brrrrrr!

    Like

      • Then we’re even, Valérie, because you just made mine! I’m also excited to see you’re a contributor to Mirrorless Minutes. A new fellow contributor and blogging friend, Joe Giordano, runs a blog I’m honored to be a part of, Monochromia. Roads converging – perhaps leading some day to participating in one of your Paris offerings.🙂

        Like

      • Unfortunately, when I found out the weekly commitment involved I had to pull out of the Fuji group. I’m working 7 days/week on so many different photography related projects, I didn’t want to stay in the group and not be able to contribute regularly. I workshops, mentoring, writing and podcast are keeping me too busy already. Would love to see you on a Paris photo adventure!! Feel free to contact me directly for more info.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for sharing that info, Valérie. Between your work on WP, FB, and TWIP, I’m still a very happy camper🙂 And I’ll be sure to reach out about Paris when the timing’s right!

        Like

  5. It is nearly impossible to choose just one as a favorite among these exquisite black-and-white photos. However, I have narrowed it down to two. I love the composition and light in the photo of the man holding the umbrella at the top of the stairs and the embracing couple.

    Like

  6. Addendum: I forgot to add that I really agree with your statement about imperfection in street photography. While I tend to strive for technical precision (I stay away from the word “perfection”) in my landscape shoots (where everything is planned to some degree), I am learning to roll with the flow when it comes to street photography.

    Like

  7. Fantastic stuff, as always. I have to say that your work has inspired me to try more street photography (I even got myself a Fuji X100T for that purpose) and to document my efforts by starting up a blog as well. I’ve been following you since the early DPS days and decided to finally wade into the comment section to leave a little note. One of these days, I’ll have to sign up for one of your Parisian workshops too!

    Like

  8. Love it! Great work Valerie! Before EVF’s I’d probably have been really turned off from shooting at night (If I’m honest) but it makes the keeper rate so much higher and therefore so much more an effective use of time as you know what you’re going home with (in terms of exposures at least).

    Like

Leave a Reply

