The Streets of Chicago

I just had a fantastic weekend in ‘The Windy City’ where I was a presenter at the Out of Chicago photo conference. I met such amazing people, both among the attendees and the other speakers. So much energy, creativity and camaraderie were packed in 3 days! I can’t wait to participate again in 2016. There were many highlights to my weekend, seeing old friends and meeting new ones. I also had the honor to become an official X Photographer for Fujifilm USA, which marks the beginning of a new adventure!

Here are a few snapshots gathered while roaming the streets of Chicago…

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-3

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

 

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-20

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-23

21 thoughts on “The Streets of Chicago

  1. Moved from Chicago to a ghost town. Your images make me long to go back. You captured what I always tell people – Chicago is always active.

    Like

  2. Lovely photo’s-such clarity, love the black figure of the doorman no highlights in his eyes but
    look at those highlights in his polished boots!!!! this question may be one of your secrets Valerie but do you use the in-camera b/w mode or do you shoot in colour then convert?
    Kind Regards.

    Like

    • Thank you David! Yes, the doorman was quite backlit, which is one of my favorite lighting situations. And indeed, he was impeccably dressed! I have no secrets. I shoot RAW and more often than not I go into the Fuji calibration settings in LR directly (same as the awesome Fuji in-camera settings on the camera such as Velvia, B&W with yellow filter, etc.) I usually add a bit of contrast, et voila!

      Like

  3. Hi Valerie, Have a nice day to you and your family. Your work was really amazing. I am also a street photographer here in Cebu, Philippines. I really want to capture more here. What is your techniques when shooting in street? Thank you.

    Regards,Kirk Cornelio

    Like

  4. Oh I so miss Chicago! One of the great cities for street photography​ and you captured it so well! the lines and light from the El and buildings, the people and the whole cosmopolitan air of my home city. And the Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup. It must have been Sinatra’s “Toddling Town” when you were there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

