Paris in July

Family vacation time! Mandatory stop in Paris for a few days on our way to the coast. It’s a short visit, Paris in the summer is not my favorite time of the year to be there. The capital loses some of its authenticity with many of the locals gone on vacation and hoards of tourists invading every street corner. I don’t make time for photography during those family trips, my camera just follows as an extension of me and I grab a shot here and there. It can be a bit frustrating at times when you are a photo addict like me, but if you make it a challenge, it can also be very rewarding. How many keepers will I have at the end of the day without sacrificing family time?

Here are a few of the keepers from 3 short days spent in Paris earlier this week. All shot with my beloved Fuji X100T which is the only camera I am traveling with again this summer.

 

©Valerie Jardin

Walking through a sunburst, Ile de la Cite ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

At M ‘O ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

The Mystery Bride ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

The Pigeon Whisperer ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Let’s Dance on Ile Saint Louis ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Time for Love ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Appeared like a blur in a ray of sunlight ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

The stare… ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Dans le metro ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Minimalist pigeon story ©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Business as usual at La Defense ©Valerie Jardin

Light and shadows ©Valerie Jardin

Light and shadows
©Valerie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin

Cleaning time ©Valerie Jardin

 

10 thoughts on “Paris in July

  1. I would like to know, in the shot you call “The Stare”, were you intimidated by his possible displeasure? Did you ignore it? Did you ask permission? Or did you snap quick and walk away before he could object? When people look unhappy because I am taking their picture, I tend to skulk away and miss the shot.

    Like

    • Provoking eye contact is another level of challenge in street photography. No permission asked as it is not a street portrait. The goal is capture the moment right when the subject becomes aware of you but just before they show a reaction. It’s that moment of awareness that last a fraction of a second. Not something I do very often but its very gratifying when you get the shot. No interaction. you just move on as if nothing happened and leave the subject wondering if, indeed, anything happened.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It is always so inspiring to me to see your images. But, jeez girl, could you make it look at least like you had to make a little effort. Let us mere mortals think we can be as good as you. Hahahahahahahahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! Ok, next time I will pretend like I spent hours waiting for the subject to walk through my frame😉 Which I would do if I had the time. Not having the luxury of time is a great exercise in learning to anticipate the moment.
      .

      Like

  3. As always,stunning photos,I so love the atmosphere you’ve taken so brilliantly…!!! Thank you Valerie,do enjoy your time with your family,greetings…:)))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

