My Off-Season in Minnesota

I’ve been back from my last trip for nearly 2 weeks. I’m starting to get the travel bug again… Is it an addiction? I’m afraid so… But a good one! I have exactly one month off before I start the 2016 workshop season with Paris in January. I can’t wait! A new year is always exciting and… It’s Paris!

I’ve so been busy catching up with office tasks and writing again that I’ve had no time to shoot but I make a point to take the camera out to grab a snapshot here and there. Winter has been very mild in Minnesota so far, I hope it continues this way. Yet, it’s still cold enough to prevent people from spending too much time lingering on the streets and it makes street photography a bit more challenging. It’s time to shoot inside and work on my Museum-Goers series. I also spend a lot of time with friends at coffee shops. All are good opportunities to take the camera out. Another one of my favorite activities on cold days is to explore warehouses converted into artists’ studios and to go  ‘photo-antiquing’ and find the unexpected.

Here are  a few pics collected during my recent wanderings…

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-5

Bike and coffee always go together in Minneapolis. Here the bike shop is inside the coffee shop. ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-4

Bikes and blokes (aka. my good buddies Shawn and Mitch) ©Valérie Jardin

 

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-3

Yep… My thoughts exactly😉 ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-16

Bike messenger getting his triple espresso ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-2

©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-17

©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin-19

©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-6

Love and bikes! ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-1

Wheels in a wheel ©Valérie Jardin

A few days later, wandering in industrial buildings and antique shops…

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-14

Inside an old brick building converted into artist studios ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-12

©Valérie Jardin

 

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-9

A little ‘photo-antiquing’ at Architectural Antiques  ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-8

Industrial glove forms and their reflection… They were so cool, I had to buy a few😉 ©Valérie Jardin

©Valerie Jardin - Dec 2015-10

Don’t blink! ©Valérie Jardin

5 thoughts on “My Off-Season in Minnesota

  1. Thanks, Valérie, for reminding me that the great photos are everywhere, once you start looking. Love the bike café series. Joyeux Noel et bonne anné.

    Like

  2. Glad your winter hasn’t been too cold. I don’t know anyone in Minnesota, so when I hear about the weather there, you come to mind. Love the shots and the variety of subject matter. In a series, I usually find a favorite, but in this case too many of them are appealing to my eye.

    Like

  3. Hi Valerie

    Your emails are always so inspiring and your images amazing. Hope you have a great Christmas and a wonderful 2016. Thanks for giving so much to street photographers. Would be good to see you in Sydney Australia!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

