County Fair Folks

County fairs offer a very unique experience in the United States. Walking through a County Fair is a bit like going back in time.  They are nothing compared to the giant State Fairs. It’s local and authentic, people know each other and they take the time to slow down.

I don’t like crowds but I really enjoyed the Washington County Fair in Minnesota with my camera for the first time. I was there for just a couple of hours on a Saturday evening early August. It was a perfect evening for silhouettes 🙂

Here are a few of the pics I came home with. All shot with Fujifilm X70.

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-3

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-2

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-7

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-4

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-8

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-9

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-5

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-1

©Valerie Jardin - County Fair Folks-6

Thanks for visiting, please leave a comment if you have a few seconds 🙂

2 thoughts on “County Fair Folks

  1. I like the state and county fair photos. I just listed to your interview on The Candid Frame. Its from a couple years ago, but you mentioned how you were inspired by Jim Brandenberg. He finds beauty and rich photographic subjects even in simple things like a treeless prairie. I feel like your fair photos do the same thing. I would love to go to NYC or Paris or Rome for some street photography (who wouldn’t), but sometimes the local county fair is as close as I can get. Its good to know that distance and geography are not obstacles to great photography.

    Like

  2. I tend to stay away from large crowds too, but I think you did a pretty good job focusing on the subjects, it almost looks as if no one was there. My favorite photo is obviously the one of everyone on the carnival ride, but the last images stands out to me as well. The images look so crisp, great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

