Home of the LA Phil

I was in Los Angeles last weekend teaching a street photography workshop. Street photography is definitely my first love, but I’ve never limited myself to just one genre. I love to see the world through my lens and architectural abstract photography is something I also love to do. I approach it very simply, just like I do with street: One camera, one lens. I had a little bit of time before catching my flight on Monday morning so I made my way up to the Walt Disney Concert Hall, another one of Frank Gehry’s amazing works of art. It is also the home of one of the most talented and passionate music directors in the world: Gustavo Dudamel.

I only had a few minutes and I made the best of the time and light I had to work with to give you these images of lines and curves. If you want to see the entire building, you’ll have to Google it. The clutter of the traffic and road signs doesn’t give justice to the amazing lines of Gehry’s work and I chose to leave them out of my frames.

 

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

©Valérie Jardin

 

 

To see more of my work, please visit my website. Thank you for stopping by, please leave a comment below 🙂

13 thoughts on “Home of the LA Phil

  1. Fantastic stuff, Valerie! I’ve shot Disney Concert Hall a couple of times (local to me), but have always struggled with adequately conveying the architecture and curves (it’s so unique) onto a photo medium. I really love how you were able to capture exactly that!

    Like

  2. Valerie – I have never seen any photo like these ! They take my breath away ; they are so sureal ! The angles , curves and various shapes are so perfefectly aligned and I cannot imagine where you were taking the photos . I am in awe . I will study these for some time – thank you .

    Like

  3. Love your use of lines & framing in these shots! I love that building, too. Wish I could have attended your workshop.

    Like

  4. Valerie: it’s good you don’t limit yourself because these are beautiful and harken back to the days of B&W photographers seeing beauty in lines and shapes.

    Like

Leave a comment