ONE CENTURY: Elaine Anderson, 103.

It’s time to start posting on this blog again! Most of you see my daily work on Instagram and know that I’ve been very busy traveling, teaching, writing and creating new work daily. Admittedly, I neglected this blog for another full year and I apologize. What better way to revive it than by introducing my new long term documentary project titled:

ONE CENTURY: Portraits of centenarians and the activities that bring them joy

ONE CENTURY is more than a photography project; it is a celebration of the human spirit. Through these images, I want to inspire viewers to appreciate the beauty of aging. Many centenarians engage in activities that promote physical and mental stimulation. Some enjoy gardening or swimming. Others find solace in creative pursuits like music, painting or writing. In essence, centenarians demonstrate the importance of staying active, curious, and socially connected throughout life. Their choice of activity reflects their resilience and adaptability.

I’m using the same fixed lens camera for this project as I use for all my work: The Fujifilm X100V at 23mm.

I am actively looking for centenarians in Minnesota and Western Wisconsin. In 2024 the project will also extend to other locations: Paris, France – Oaxaca, Mexico – Madrid, Spain – New York City, NY. Please Contact me here if you can help me find amazing centenarians.

~

Elaine Anderson, 103

Today, let me introduce you to Elaine Anderson, 103. She lives independently in St Louis Park, Minnesota and swims for an hour every afternoon. I had the privilege to be invited to visit Elaine at the pool earlier this month and captured these frames.

Does Elaine inspire you? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

A bientôt,

Valérie

One thought on “ONE CENTURY: Elaine Anderson, 103.

  1. A wonderfully interesting project, and certainly inspiring. I agree that it’s important to keep living as fully as possible in all manner of things. I keep asking why is… or isn’t… curiosity feeds the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment