Seen at 16mm

There is a place I visit regularly in Minneapolis, that’s Architectural Antiques. I know the staff there, they’re super friendly and always let me spend time in some dark corners hunting for treasures with my camera. This week I received the new Fujinon 16mm F/1.4 lens which prompted me to take the XT-1 out of the closet (I’ve been shooting at 23mm with the X100S and now the X100T for so long, I never even think of using a different focal length any more!)

This is not a lens review, I don’t do those. I find them boring to read, let alone write them! Just a few pics shot with a pretty incredible lens which I am going to take on the streets once in a while now too. It will by no means replace my X100T for street photography. I don’t think the camera that will, is even born yet!

This week the Architectural Antiques had some cool old film reels and canisters lying around the store. I had fun shooting them in very low light with the cool new fast prime. Photographers are never bored!
©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-1 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-7 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-2 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-14 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-13 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-5 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-6 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-1 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-10 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-8

Then I went across the street and found a window that gave me the moody and contrasty light I love…

©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-17 ©Valerie Jardin - XT-1 16mm-18

7 thoughts on “Seen at 16mm

  1. It’s a great photo I do not know how to set the X-T1 for this picture, you can tell me or not. How does the camera settings such as nr, h tone, s tone, flim simulation.

    Like

  2. You must feel quite strange – this must be the largest lens you have used in years – Not at all like the svelte X100S!

    🙂 … MomentsForZen (Richard)

    Like

  3. Love the film reels! Back in Chicago in the early ’90s my brother was trained to operate those old projectors and worked for theaters in schools and elsewhere. Sadly, those closed as did the need for his skills. Some of the machines were 35 and 40 or more years old! I used to love to visit him in the projectionist booth and wonder at how those old mechanical parts all meshing together to thread the spools along. Thanks for reviving those memories!

    Like

Leave a comment