The People on the Green Line

It’s been another crazy week. Mostly filled with podcast recording, workshop planning, writing and other office tasks. To top it all off, I was hit with a nasty viral bug that put me out of commission for 24 hours on the day that I had planned to go out with my camera! By Saturday nothing was going to stop me from heading out with my camera. I would normally take the x100s for this type of photo walk but I opted for the Fuji X-T1 with its new silent mode (thanks to its recent firmware update).

I decided to ride the Green Line on the light rail between St Paul and Minneapolis and photograph faces along the way. No expectations, it is something I often do in other cities but not where I live. I did snap a few pics between short conversations with a few passengers.

Ordinary people going about their ordinary lives on an ordinary winter day in Minnesota…

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-1

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-18

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-2

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-3

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-19

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-6

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-21

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-8

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-9

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-7

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-10

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-13

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-11

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-12

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-5

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-20

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-4

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-16

©Valérie Jardin

Valerie Jardin - Green Line-15

©Valérie Jardin

 

3 thoughts on “The People on the Green Line

  1. This is my first post on your site, but I’ve been following some of your work and commentary at your site and in TWiP for a while. These are great candid photos of the kind I also tend to go after when in the city. Curious about the angle from which some of the photos were taken, as they appear to be shot from down low. Was this because of a style you were after or because they were shot from the waist to avoid being detected? Oh, and thanks for all the great podcasts.

    Like

    • Thanks Eric! I like to shoot lower than eye level in general. In situations like this one, bringing the camera to your eye would obviously disturb the scene and be counterproductive to taking candid shots, so I shoot from chest or waist level. When sitting, I often rest the camera on one of my knees for added stabilization. Thanks for listening to TWiP and Street Focus!

      Like

Leave a comment